Tutte le nominations agli Independent Spirit Awards


Sono state annunciate ieri le nominations agli Independent Spirit Awards, che saranno consegnati sulla spiaggia di Santa Monica, il 25 febbraio prossimo, il giorno prima degli Oscar, come da tradizione.

Con sei candidature sono in testa American Honey di Andrea Arnold e Moonlight di Berry Jenkins.

Nei cinque candidati al miglior film ci sono anche Jackie di Pablo Larrain che conquista 4 nominations, Manchester by the Sea di kenneth Lonergan e a sorpresa Chronic del messicano Michel Franco.

Gli ultimi due però non bissano la candidatura per la migliore regia, lasciando spazio a Jeff Nichols per Loving e Kelly Reichardt per Certain Women.

Di seguito tutti i candidati. Nessun italiano in gara: non nella categoria del film straniero, non in quella del miglior documentario.

Ma c’è Ralph Fiennes miglior attore non protagonista per A bigger splash di Luca Guadagnino.

Seguite i link alle nostre recensioni:

(Award given to the producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.)

American Honey
Producers: Thomas Benski, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Lucas Ochoa, Pouya Shahbazian, Alice Weinberg

Producers: Michel Franco, Gina Kwon, Gabriel Ripstein, Moisés Zonana

Producers: Darren Aronofsky, Scott Franklin, Ari Handel, Juan de Dios Larraín, Mickey Liddell

Manchester by the Sea
Producers: Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Steward,
Kevin J. Walsh

Producers: Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adele Romanski


(Award given to the director and producer)

The Childhood of a Leader
Director: Brady Corbet Producers: Antoine de Clermont-Tonnerre, Chris Coen, Ron Curtis, Helena Danielsson, Mona Fastvold, István Major

“The Fits”
Director/Producer: Anna Rose Holmer
Producer: Lisa Kjerulff

“Other People”
Director: Chris Kelly Producers: Sam Bisbee, Adam Scott, Naomi Scott

“Swiss Army Man”
Directors: Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert
Producers: Miranda Bailey, Lawrence Inglee, Lauren Mann, Amanda Marshall, Eyal Rimmon, Jonathan Wang

The Witch
Director: Robert Eggers
Producers: Daniel Bekerman, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Jodi Redmond, Rodrigo Teixeira


Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director and producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.

“Free In Deed”
Writer/Director: Jake Mmhaffy Producers: Mike Bowes, Mike S. Ryan, Brent Stiefel

“Hunter Gatherer”
Writer/Director: Josh Locy Producers: Michael Covino, April Lamb, Sara Murphy, Isaiah Smallman

Writer/Director: So Yong Kim Writer/Producer: Bradley Rust Gray Producers: David Hansen, Alex Lipschultz, Johnny Mac

Writer/Director/Producer: TW Pittman Director/Producer: Kelly Daniela Norris Writer/Producer: Isaac Adakudugu Producer: Giovanni Ximénez

“Spa Night”
Writer/Director: Andrew Ahn Producers: David Ariniello, Giulia Caruso, Ki Jin Kim, Kelly Thomas



Andrea Arnold, “American Honey”

Barry Jenkins, “Moonlight”

Pablo Larraín, “Jackie”

Jeff Nichols, “Loving”

Kelly Reichardt, “Certain Women”



Barry Jenkins, Story By Tarell Alvin McCraney, “Moonlight”

Kenneth Lonergan, “Manchester by the Sea”

Mike Mills, “20th Century Women”

Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias, “Little Men”

Taylor Sheridan, “Hell or High Water”



Robert Eggers, “The Witch”

Chris Kelly, “Other People”

Adam Mansbach, “Barry”

Stella Meghie, “Jean of the Joneses”

Craig Shilowich, “Christine”



Ava Berkofsky, “Free In Deed”

Lol Crawley, “The Childhood of a Leader”

Zach Kuperstein, “The Eyes of My Mother”

James Laxton, “Moonlight”

Robbie Ryan, “American Honey”



Matthew Hannam, “Swiss Army Man”

Jennifer Lame, “Manchester by the Sea”

Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders, “Moonlight”

Jake Roberts, “Hell or High Water”

Sebastián Sepúlveda, “Jackie”



Annette Bening, “20th Century Women”

Isabelle Huppert, “Elle”

Sasha Lane, “American Honey”

Ruth Negga, “Loving”

Natalie Portman, “Jackie”



Casey Affleck, “Manchester by the Sea”

David Harewood, “Free In Deed”

Viggo Mortensen, “Captain Fantastic”

Jesse Plemons, “Other People”

Tim Roth, “Chronic”



Edwina Findley, “Free In Deed”

Paulina Garcia, “Little Men”

Lily Gladstone, “Certain Women”

Riley Keogh, “American Honey”

Molly Shannon, “Other People”



Ralph Fiennes, “A Bigger Splash”

Ben Foster, “Hell or High Water”

Lucas Hedges, “Manchester by the Sea”

Shia LaBeouf, “American Honey”

Craig Robinson, “Morris from America”


ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast)

Director: Barry Jenkins
Casting Director: Yesi Ramirez
Ensemble Cast: Mahershala Ali, Patrick Decile, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes, Ashton Sanders


BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)

Director/Producer: Ava DuVernay, Producers: Spencer Averick, Howard Barish

Director/Producer: Kirsten Johnson, Producer: Marilyn Ness

“I Am Not Your Negro”
Director/Producer: Raoul Peck, Producers: Rémi Grellety, Hérbert Peck

“O.J.: Made in America”
Director/Producer: Ezra Edelman, Producers: Nina Krstic, Tamara Rosenberg, Caroline Waterlow

Director: Rokhsareh Ghaem Magihami Producer: Gerd Haag

“Under the Sun”
Director: Vitaly Mansky Producer: Natalya Manskaya


BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)

Director: Kleber Mendonça Filho

Director: Athina Tsangari

My Golden Days
Director: Arnaud Desplechin

Toni Erdmann
(Germany and Romania)
Director: Maren Ade

“Under the Shadow”
(Iran and U.K.)
Director: Babak Anvari

20th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 20th annual Producers Award, sponsored by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.
Lisa Kjerulff
Jordana Mollick
Melody C. Roscher & Craig Shilowich

23rd ANNUAL KIEHL’S SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 23rd annual Someone to Watch Award, sponsored by Kiehl’s Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851.

Andrew Ahn
Director of “Spa Night”

Claire Carré
Director of “Embers”

Anna Rose Holmer
Director of “The Fits”

Ingrid Jungermann
Director of “Women Who Kill”

22nd TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 22nd annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Kristi Jacobson
Director of “Solitary”

Sara Jordenö
Director of “Kiki”

Nanfu Wang
Director of “Hooligan Sparrow”


E tu, cosa ne pensi?

Inserisci i tuoi dati qui sotto o clicca su un'icona per effettuare l'accesso:

Logo WordPress.com

Stai commentando usando il tuo account WordPress.com. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Google photo

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Google. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto Twitter

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Twitter. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto di Facebook

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Facebook. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Connessione a %s...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.